Emergency Information Take Over

Annual "Celebrating Diversity" Gala Draws Its Biggest Crowd Ever

Tuesday, February 8, 2011

 Dr. Bruce Jarrell, Yemi Adebayo, Linda Xu and Dean Reece.

The University of Maryland School of Medicine (UMSOM ) held its fourth annual Celebrating Diversity reception and dinner on Saturday, February 5, 2011 from 6:30-10:30 p.m. at the Marriott Inner Harbor at Camden Yards.  The event was attended by over 200 guests, the largest number in the history of the event. Nearly $20,000 was raised for the Dean Emeritus Donald E. Wilson Endowed Scholarship fund, representing an increase of over 60% from the 2009 Diversity event proceeds. 

Approximately 70 current and prospective UMSOM students were able to attend thanks to the generosity of the event's presenting sponsor, the Medical Alumni Association of the University of Maryland, Inc. Gold sponsors were the Whiting-Turner Contracting Company and Banks ConstructionMahogany, Inc. and the Association of American Medical Colleges served as silver sponsors. Whiting Turner also made it possible for students from Archbishop Borders elementary school in Highlandtown – as well as the school's principal, and the students’ parents – to attend the event. The hope was that the students would benefit from the positive role models who spoke at and attended the event, including medical students and faculty from the School of Medicine.                                  

Many department chairs and faculty members were in attendance for this inspiring evening, which featured remarks from Dennis Narango, MA, CFRE, Associate Dean for Development; E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA, Vice President for Medical Affairs, University of Maryland, and the John Z. and Akiko K. Bowers Distinguished Professor and Dean of the School of Medicine.; Honorary Chair Elijah Saunders, MD, clinical professor of Medicine; and Master of Ceremonies Otha Myles, MD, Assistant Professor of Medicine and President of the Medical Alumni Association of the University of Maryland Board of Directors. Featured Speaker Myron Weisfeldt, MD, the William Osler Professor of Medicine and Chair of the Department of Medicine at The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and Physician-in-Chief at Johns Hopkins Hospital, delivered an informative presentation on the success of programs supporting diversity in medicine at the Hopkins. 

School of Medicine student Linda Xu, who will graduate this year, spoke about how receiving scholarships has impacted her education and medical career. Third-year student Yemi Adebayo touched the guests when he recounted his personal experience growing up in an underserved community and declared a commitment to practice medicine in these same neighborhoods.

The Dean Emeritus Donald E. Wilson Endowed Scholarship Fund is named in honor of Donald E. Wilson, MD, who served as Dean of the medical school from 1991 to 2006 and greatly increased the number of under-represented minorities among both the faculty and the student body. If you are interested in donating to this fund, or for more information, please contact Dennis Narango, Associate Dean for Development, at 410.706.8503 or dnarango@som.umaryland.edu.

Contact Us

University of Maryland School of Medicine
University of Maryland School of Medicine
Office of Development
31 South Greene Street, 3rd Floor
Baltimore, Maryland 21201
Phone: 410-706-8503
Toll Free: 1-877-FUND-SOM

 Vice Chair of the Dept. of Medicine Philip A Mackowiak M.D., M.B.A, BOV member Ms. Carolyn McGuire-Frenkil, and Assoc. Dean for Development Dennis Narango.

 BOV member and Executive Vice President of Whiting Turner Contracting Company Mr. Tim Regan and Kevin Villeda of Archbishop Borders School in Highlandtown

 Elijah Saunders and BOV members Mr. Ken Banks, President of Banks Contracting Company and Mr. Jeffrey Hargrave, President of Mahogany, Inc.

 Dean Reece and Dr. Myles presented Dr. Weisfeldt with a certificate of appreciation following his presentation.

Comment on this Story