Emergency Information Take Over

Student Awards Breakfast Honors Scholarship and Academic Award Recipients from the Class of 2011

Thursday, May 19, 2011

 Nancy Lentz got a congratulatory kiss from daughter Carmen after winning the Theodore E. Woodward Prize in Internal Medicine.

Commencement festivities kicked off on May 19, 2011 with the annual Student Scholarship and Awards Breakfast, held at the Southern Management Company Campus Center and sponsored by The Whiting-Turner Contracting Company. The ceremony gave graduating students who have been supported by scholarships the chance to recognize and thank the donors who established those rewards.

“This morning we want to pause a moment in our busy rush of life in order to honor our students and their outstanding achievements,” said Dennis Narango, associate dean for the Office of Development, which presented the breakfast. “And especially to express gratitude to the benefactors who gave to the University of Maryland. Their generosity has impacted the lives of our talented students and the life of this institution.”

The breakfast ceremony also honored students who have shown great promise in a variety of medical disciplines, presenting them with acheivement awards from the departments, many named in honor of special teachers, department chairs or generous supporters. “It’s an impressive list that spans most of our departments,” said E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA, Vice President for Medical Affairs, University of Maryland, and John Z. and Akiko K. Bowers Distinguished Professor and Dean, University of Maryland School of Medicine. “Now in our third century, the School of Medicine continues to approach medical education in innovative ways, blending cutting-edge technology, traditional lectures, broad educational opportunities and self-directed learning. Through these various opportunities, we hope to instill in our students a relentless desire to become life-long learners.”

Christopher Lemon, president of the Class of 2011, believes that he and his classmates will always be striving for more.  He spoke about his college orientation, where the president of the university told the students that they were used to being in the upper echelon as far as school went, but now that high point was going to be normal, so they would have to constantly go higher. That bar only went up further when Chris got to med school. “The University of Maryland School of Medicine, with 160 of the nation’s best and brightest future physicians, extracted the upper echelon of excellence and made it the standard,” said Chris.

“One might expect that such elevated excellence would be joined with a fierce sense of competition,” he added. “Fortunately, this was not so. Thank you, first and foremost, for not just knocking me off at the very beginning. And, more importantly thank you for making me better. You demonstrated excellence combined with humility, and there is no other talented group of individuals with whom I would have rather made this journey. I’m proud of all the students here. You’ve collectively enriched our class, and I’m honored to share in your accomplishments today.”

Contact Us

University of Maryland School of Medicine
Caelie Haines
Manager, Public Affairs
(410) 706-7508

 David Suskin showed off his Leonard M. Hummel Memorial Award for Excellence in Internal Medicine to his proud family.

 Lindsay Quade and parents were beaming after she was awarded the Lois, Ida and Samuel Cohen Award for Personal Attributes of Scholarship, Ability and Compassion for Patients.

 Chris Lemon, president of the Class of 2011.

Comment on this Story