Emergency Information Take Over

ACGME approves accreditation of Obstetric Anesthesiology Fellowship

Tuesday, May 01, 2012

This year, Obstetric Anesthesiology has become the latest subspecialty recognized by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education. On 4/19/12, the Residency Review Committee for Anesthesiology approved an Obstetric Anesthesiology Fellowship in the Department of Anesthesiology.

The 12-month long fellowship is approved for one fellow who - besides providing bedside care for the most critically ill parturients in the State of Maryland - will also rotate in the Neonatal Intensive Care unit, the Center for Advanced Fetal care, and will have protected time for research.

The Fellowship Director is Shobana Bharadwaj MBBS (Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology), the Division Director is Andrew M. Malinow MD (Professor of Anesthesiology and Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences), and the program will be administrated by the office of Mary Njoku MD (The M. Jane Matjasko Associate Professor for Education in Anesthesiology), who is the Program Director for the Core Program in Anesthesiology.

At present, applications for 2012 and 2013 are being accepted.

Contact Us

University of Maryland School of Medicine

Learn More

Comment on this Story