Emergency Information Take Over

Student Scholarship and Awards Dinner Honors Accomplished Members of the Class of 2012

Thursday, May 17, 2012

 Craig Stauffer took home the prestigious Dean's Award for Excellence in Research, presented by Dean Reece and Jordan Warnick, PhD, associate dean for Student Education and Research.

Graduation celebrations kicked off on Wednesday, May 16, 2012, with the sixth annual Student Awards & Scholarships ceremony. The dinner was held at the Southern Management Company Campus Center and sponsored by The Whiting Turner Contracting Company. It provided an opportunity to recognize the accomplished graduating students who have received scholarships, awards, or prizes. This event also recognizes the donors whose generous contributions fund these scholarships and awards.

“I would like to express our deepest appreciation to the donors who have made it possible to fulfill one of our top priorities, which is to educate the physicians, scientists, and allied health professionals who will provide medical care not only today but in the future,” said E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA, Vice President for Medical Affairs, University of Maryland, and John Z. and Akiko K. Bowers Distinguished Professor and Dean, University of Maryland School of Medicine.

Among those donors are Drs. Carolyn Pass and Richard Susel, both from the Class of 1966, who established the I. Earl Pass Memorial Award for Exceptional Proficiency in Internal Medicine in memory of Dr. Pass’ father, and, in 2008, also established The Carolyn J. Pass, MD ’66 and Richard M. Susel, MD ’66 Academy of Educational Excellence, to honor outstanding faculty members past and present. The 2012 Academy Fellows were Olga Ioffe, MD, a professor in the Department of Pathology; Nevins Todd III, MD, Class of 1986, an associate professor in the Department of Medicine; and the late Ronald Gutberlet, MD, Class of 1961, formerly professor and interim chair in the Department of Pediatrics and former Chair of Pediatrics at Mercy Medical Center.

The ceremony also honored students who have shown great promise in a variety of medical disciplines. These students were presented with awards from nearly all the School of Medicine departments, many of which were named in honor of special teachers, department chairs and generous supporters. “I would like to offer my heartfelt congratulations to the extraordinary students receiving awards here tonight, who have worked so hard to achieve these honors,” said Dean Reece. “Your perseverance and dedication have indeed paid dividends, and you have clearly overcome the many challenges inherent in succeeding in medical school. The tremendous talent and exceptional compassion exhibited by the Class of 2012 is a reflection of their commitment to the pursuit of excellence. Truly the future of medicine is in great hands.”

Contact Us

University of Maryland School of Medicine
Caelie Haines
Manager, Public Affairs
(410) 706-7508

 Academy of Educational Excellence inductee Nevins Todd III, MD, with Drs. Reece, Pass, Susel and Bruce Jarrell.

 Academy of Educational Excellence inductee Olga Ioffe, MD, with Drs. Reece, Pass, Susel and Bruce Jarrell.

Comment on this Story