Emergency Information Take Over

Student Awards Dinner Honors Top Achievers in the Class of 2014

Thursday, May 15, 2014

 Dr. Michael Shipley and Dean Reece present Jessica Stevens with the first of many awards she received at the ceremony.

Graduation celebrations kicked off on Wednesday, May 14, 2013, with the eighth annual Student Awards ceremony. The dinner was held at the Southern Management Company Campus Center and sponsored by The Whiting Turner Contracting Company. It provided an opportunity to recognize the accomplished graduating students who have received scholarships, awards, and other academic prizes. This event also recognizes donors whose generous contributions fund these awards.

“The University of Maryland School of Medicine is fortunate to attract medical students of the highest caliber, and those receiving honors and awards tonight are truly the best of the best,” said E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA, Vice President for Medical Affairs, University of Maryland, and the John Z. and Akiko K. Bowers Distinguished Professor and Dean, University of Maryland School of Medicine. “The tremendous talent and exceptional compassion exhibited by this graduating class is a reflection of their commitment to the pursuit of excellence.”

Many of the awards honored students who have shown great promise in the wide variety of medical disciplines taught at the School of Medicine. These students were presented with awards from nearly all of the School of Medicine departments, some of which are named after department founders or former chairs, or after generous donors to those departments. Other awards are named in honor of special teachers who have had a profound impact on students at the School of Medicine. “I wish to acknowledge our donors, who have made countless contributions to the lives and future careers of our students,” said Dean Reece. “Your philanthropy has a measurable and tangible impact, and makes it possible for us to educate the physicians, scientists, and allied health professionals of tomorrow.  We deeply appreciate your incredible support.”

Also at the dinner, two more faculty members were inducted into the Carolyn J. Pass, MD ’66 and Richard M. Susel, MD ’66 Academy of Educational Excellence, which was established in 2008 to honor faculty members past and present who demonstrate exceptional innovation in, and dedication to, medical education; who embody the highest ideals of the medical and/or science professions; and who display a singular commitment to the best interests of medical students. This year’s honorees were Rick Matteson, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Physiology, and Director of Student Research Education and Dual Degree Programs, and Susan Wolfsthal, MD, the Celeste Lauve Woodward, MD Professor in Humanism and Ethical Medical Practice, Department of Medicine, Internal Medicine Residency Program Director, and Associate Chair for Education in the Department of Medicine. Their names will be engraved on a plaque on permanent display inside the Pass and Susel Medical Education Facility in Howard Hall.

Contact Us

University of Maryland School of Medicine
Caelie Haines
Manager, Public Affairs
(410) 706-7508

 Dr. Susan Wolfsthal was inducted into the Carolyn J. Pass, MD ’66 and Richard M. Susel, MD ’66 Academy of Educational Excellence.

 Dr. Richard Matteson was inducted into the Carolyn J. Pass, MD ’66 and Richard M. Susel, MD ’66 Academy of Educational Excellence.

Comment on this Story