Emergency Information Take Over

GPILS Awards Its Students, Faculty and Post Doctoral Fellows

 Dean Reece presented the Postdoctoral Scholar award to Joseph Mauban, PhD, from the Department of Physiology.

The Graduate Program in Life Sciences (GPILS) held its second annual awards ceremony September 17, 2008 to honor students, post-doctoral fellows and faculty for their contributions to the program and to science over the past year.


"This event summarizes in a very tactile/tangible way the vitality of our graduate programs. The pool of nominees for each award was intensely competitive," said Tom McHugh, Program Manager for GPILS. "Our Awards Committee did an outstanding job weighing the merits of each nominee, and Dr. Achsah Keegan provided outstanding leadership as chair of this committee."


The following were awarded during the ceremony:


  • Dean E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA, presented the Postdoctoral Scholar award, which went to Joseph Mauban, PhD, from the Department of Physiology.
  • Executive Vice Dean Bruce Jarrell, MD, presented Thomas Abrams, PhD, Associate Professor in the Department of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics, with an award for Outstanding Achievement in Graduate Education.
  • Angela Brodie, PhD, Professor in the Department of Pharmacology & Experimental Therapeutics, used money from her 2006 Kettering Award to establish an award for graduate students in Pharmacology, which this year went to Tamara Blutstein.
  • Kathleen Reinecke from the Graduate Program in Biochemistry & Molecular Biology received the Recognition of Service award.
  • Shayna Rich from Epidemiology was the PhD Scholar this year, while Xiao-Ling Li, MD, PhD was recognized for the best PhD Thesis Project.
  • John Teijaro from the Program in Microbiology and Immunology was given the Elaine Miye Otani Memorial Award. The Otani Award was established in remembrance of Elaine Miye Otani, a graduate student whose life was tragically cut short when she was only 26. It is given annually to a graduate student in GPILS of outstanding character who demonstrates superior academic performance and who shows outstanding promise as an independent investigator.
  • The Teacher of the Year award went to Martin Flajnik, PhD, Professor of Microbiology and Immunology.

Contact Us

University of Maryland School of Medicine
Caelie Haines
Manager, Public Affairs
(410) 706-7508

Learn More

 Mona Baumgarten was thrilled for awardee Shayna Rich, for whom she serves as a mentor.

 Tom Abrams was honored for his contributions to graduate education.

 John Teijaro thanked the parents of Elaine Miye Otani.

 Biochemistry student Tom Charpentier presented Kathleen Reinecke with her award.

Comment on this Story