Emergency Information Take Over

Celebrating a World of Good at the Annual School of Medicine Gala

Tuesday, March 17, 2009

 Dr. Robert E. Fischell and wife Susan were Honorary co-chairs of the Gala.

All the world was the stage for the 2009 Fund for Medicine Gala, held at the Hilton Baltimore Convention Center Hotel March 14th. In keeping with the theme, Discovery Advancing Better Global Health, the ballroom was adorned with decorative elements representing geographical areas in which School of Medicine researchers have made an impact, including Africa, Asia, Europe and South America.


(See a gallery of images from this year's gala.)


"Our medical school embraces and touches the entire world in profound and practical ways," says E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA, Vice President for Medical Affairs, University of Maryland; the John Z. and Akiko K. Bowers Distinguished Professor and Dean, University of Maryland School of Medicine. "Our presence around the globe is physical and constant and yields both the care of human suffering and the knowledge for treating and preventing diseases," he continues. "Our faculty carry the benefits of their extraordinary research back to the state of Maryland, where we provide our fellow citizens with the most advanced patient care anywhere in the world."


In a special investiture ceremony, 20 previously endowed chairs and professors received medals to recognize both their accomplishments and those of their donors. The front of the medal features the image of Dr. John Beale Davidge, a founder and the first dean of the school and the namesake of historic Davidge Hall. The back of the medal lists the four tenets of the School of Medicine's mission: education, research, patient care and service, as well as the official name of the endowed professorship.


After the investiture ceremony, the 600 guests took to the dance floor to swing to the big band sounds of Mood Swings, featuring alumnus Jack Vaeth, MD, Class of 1992. The gala raised more than $242,000 for the School of Medicine. "It is the generous support of sponsors and donors that has enabled the School of Medicine to raise funds to support outstanding research, innovative education and superb clinical care," acknowledged Mary Cain, Director of Special Events and Board Relations.



Endowed Professors and Chairs Receiving Medals at the Ceremony


  • Stephen T. Bartlett, MD, the Barbara Baur Dunlap Professor in Transplantation Surgery
  • Cynthia F. Bearer, MD, PhD, the Mary Gray Cobey Professor in Neonatology
  • Maureen M. Black, PhD, the John A. Scholl, MD and Mary Louise Scholl, MD Professor in Pediatrics
  • Frank M. Calia, MD, MACP, the Theodore E. Woodward Chair in Medicine
  • Richard L. Eckert, PhD, MS, John F.B. Weaver Professor
  • Howard M. Eisenberg, MD, the R.K. Thompson, MD Chair in Neurosurgery
  • Anthony A. Gaspari, MD, the Albert Shapiro, MD Professor in Dermatology
  • Myron M. Levine, MD, DTPH, Simon and Bessie Grollman Distinguished Professor
  • Mandeep R. Mehra, MBBS, FACC, FACP, the Dr. Herbert Berger Professor in Medicine
  • Reuben S. Mezrich, MD, PhD, FACR, the Dr. John M. Dennis Chair in Radiology
  • Adrian Park, MD, FRCS(C), FACS, the Campbell and Jeanette Plugge Professor in Surgery
  • Vincent D. Pellegrini, Jr, MD, the James Lawrence Kernan Professor and Chair in the Department of Orthopaedics
  • Jean-Pierre Raufman, MD, the Moses Paulson, MD and Helen Golden Paulson Chair in the Division of Gastroenterology
  • E. Albert Reece, MD, PhD, MBA, the John Z. and Akiko K. Bowers Distinguished Professor and Dean, University of Maryland School of Medicine
  • Peter Rock, MD, MBA, the Dr. Martin A. Helrich Chair for Anesthesiology
  • Mary M. Rodgers, PT, PhD, the George R. Hepburn Dynasplint Professor in Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Science
  • Thomas M. Scalea, MD, FACS, the Francis X. Kelly Professor of Trauma Surgery
  • Michael T. Shipley, PhD, the Donald E. Wilson, MD, MACP Distinguished Professor
  • Alan R. Shuldiner, MD, the John L. Whitehurst Professor of Medicine
  • Susan D. Wolfsthal, MD, the Celeste Lauve Woodward, MD Professor in Humanism and Ethical Medical Practice

Contact Us

University of Maryland School of Medicine
Mary Cain
Executive Director of Development and Campaign Programs
University of Maryland School of Medicine Office of Development
31 South Greene Street, Third Floor
Baltimore, MD 21201

Learn More

 Dean Reece and President Ramsay congratulated Mary Rodgers, PT, PhD, the George R. Hepburn Dynasplint Professor in Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Science.

 Members of the Class of 2011 showed off their stylish sides at the event.

Comment on this Story